NRCC launches robocalls against House Democrats

Although they lost by a wide margin
last November, you have to give officials with the National Republican
Congressional Committee credit for having the gumption to pick
themselves up off the canvass and get back in the fight.

The National Republican Congressional Committee (NRCC)
announced recently that they will target 43 “vulnerable” House
Democrats by using infamous automated or robocalls to voters in those
districts, including two members of Congress representing California

According to The Hill newspaper,
voters in Congressman Jerry McNerney’s CA-11 (Pleasanton) district and
Congresswoman’s Loretta Sanchez CA-47 in Garden Grove district will
begin receiving the calls this week.

The only problem is that
unless the calls are individually introduced by a live person — and
the vast majority of the time they are not — robocalls in California
are illegal.

The NRCC campaign will include TV ads, radio spots and robocalls in the members’ districts. The campaign will focus on the Democrats
for spending taxpayer dollars “at the rate of a billion dollars an
hour,” according to an NRCC press release. It will also portray the
members of Congress as “rubber stamps” for House Speaker Nancy Pelosi
(D-San Francisco.)

be sure, it’s easy to understand how McNerney and Sanchez were picked
out by the Republicans — voter registration in their respective
district is about dead even. That said, both Democrats were both easily
reelected to office last fall.

Here’s the NRCC’s complete list of House Democratic targeted for robocalls:

Adler (NJ-03)

Jason Altmire (PA-04)

Michael Arcuri (NY-24)

Bishop (NY-01)

John Boccieri (OH-16)

Leonard Boswell (IA-03)

Boyd (FL-02)

Chris Carney (PA-10)

Gerry Connolly (VA-11)

Dahlkemper (PA-03)

Peter DeFazio (OR-04)

Steve Driehaus (OH-01)

Edwards (TX-17)

Brad Ellsworth (IN-08)

Gabby Giffords (AZ-08)

Grayson (FL-08)

John Hall (NY-19)

Debbie Halvorson (IL-11)

Herseth Sandlin (SD-AL)

Baron Hill (IN-09)

Jim Himes (CT-04)

Kagen (WI-08)

Paul Kanjorski (PA-11)

Mary Jo Kilroy (OH-15)

Kissell (NC-08)

Ron Klein (FL-22)

Dan Maffei (NY-25)

Eric Massa

Jerry McNerney (CA-11)

Charlie Melancon (LA-03)

Dennis Moore

Gary Peters (MI-09)

Loretta Sanchez (CA-47)

Mark Schauer

Kurt Schrader (OR-05)

Joe Sestak (PA-07)

Carol Shea-Porter

Heath Shuler (NC-11)

Vic Snyder (AR-02)

Zack Space (OH-18)

John Spratt (SC-05)

Bart Stupak (MI-01)

Dina Titus (NV-03)

Jeff Mitchell is a longtime California journalist and political observer. His blog can be viewed at